Built-In Shower Questions

I have acquired a built-in shower which I’m thinking might need some work.

Name:  Master Shower 20150725_144751.jpg
Views: 18
Size:  15.5 KB

Lovely, isn’t it?

I am handy with a hammer and a screw driver. I’ve done engine repair, I’ve done landscaping, I’ve built decks, I’ve done a lot of fine woodworking. I have never done showers or tiling.

The floor has a crack. In the following picture, you can see much of the crack. The crack is narrow enough that I cannot effectively get caulk into it. Is there an effective way I can repair the crack, or does the shower floor need to be replaced?

Name:  Master Shower 20150725_144804.jpg
Views: 15
Size:  16.8 KB

And then there’s this. I’m no expert, but I think the wall tiles are problematic.

Name:  Master Shower 20150725_144820.jpg
Views: 14
Size:  14.8 KB

The shower drips into the kitchen (right below the shower, duh), and after the shower is taken care of, I’m going to have some ceiling repair to do in the kitchen. The drip is pretty impressive. Despite the wall tile having slid out of place, I suspect there’s a drip behind the wall.

So (with some repetition):

  • Can the floor crack be repaired, or does the floor need to be replaced?
  • If the floor can be repaired, how?
  • If the floor needs to be replaced, does that mean I get out my sledge hammer and get down to the joists?
  • What level of expertise is needed for a job like this? Can a guy who can learn and is handy with his hands do this? Or would I be ill-advised to take this on myself?

This forum has been very helpful to me before. I have high hopes for good guidance.

-boster

Attached Images

Leave a Reply

